• MAY 20 - MAY 21
  • Tennessee Theatre, Knoxville
  • May 20, 2021 to
    May 21, 2021
  • Category: Live Music: Classical

Event Details

  • May 20, 2021 to
    May 21, 2021
  • 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
  • $15-$85
  • Get Tickets


  • Tennessee Theatre
  • 604 S Gay Street
  • Knoxville, TN 37902
  • 8655240795

Event Description

The season finale of the Masterworks series features three pieces that are departures from convention. PROJECT Trio, who electrified audiences with their January 2018 KSO debut and whose performances have been hailed in the press as “packed with musicianship, joy and surprise,” return for a concerto written especially for them by dynamic young American composer Chris Rogerson. The concert continues with Berlioz’s fiery Symphonie fantastique, a spectacle in its time, written as a performative declaration of love to a Shakespearean actress the composer knew. The evening concludes with “Dance of the Seven Veils” by composer R. Strauss, a piece inspired by the opera Salome, known similarly for its themes of passion and obsession. R. STRAUSS: Salome’s “Dance of the Seven Veils” ROGERSON: PROJECT Trio co-commission BERLIOZ: Symphonie fantastique

Event presented by: