© 2023 WUOT
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra Performs Music of Mendelssohn, Respighi, and Ligeti

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra has recently resumed performances this Spring, with limited in-person seating available to subscribers and livestream performances available to the general public. The next performance takes place on Thursday, April 22nd at 7:30pm and will feature Mendelssohn's Symphony No.4 ("Italian"), Respighi's 'Botticelli Triptych', and the "Romanian Concerto" by Ligeti.  Maestro Aram Demirjian says that these three pieces exude the lightness and effervescence of Spring and, simply put, "sound good together"! Tickets and information available at http://knoxvillesymphony.com

Melony calls the beautiful mountains of Boone, N.C., home, although she was born near Greensboro, N.C. There’s just something about those Blue Ridge Mountains that got in her blood and never left after she moved there to attend Appalachian State University (ASU). While at ASU, she majored in piano performance and music therapy and began to cultivate a love for accompanying and for collaborating with other musicians. This soon led her to earn a master’s degree in collaborative piano at the University of Tennessee, which she attended from 2006-2008.