© 2022 WUOT
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Welcome Home: The KSO Presents A Program Exploring The Idea Of "Home"

Clarence Chan

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra's October Masterworks program is all about the idea of home and folk music. But what exactly is folk music? Music Director, Aram Demirjian, and Melony Dodson explore this topic and talk about the Maestro's latest Facebook post praising Dvorak's Seventh Symphony.

On October 17 and 18, the KSO will perform Jessie Montgomery's "Records From a Vanishing City", Dvorak's Symphony No.7, and Edvard Grieg's thrilling Piano Concerto in A minor, featuring internationally renowned pianist, Natasha Paremski.

Performances are at 7:30pm in the Tennessee Theatre in downtown Knoxville. Tickets and information at http://knoxvillesymphony.com

Melony calls the beautiful mountains of Boone, N.C., home, although she was born near Greensboro, N.C. There’s just something about those Blue Ridge Mountains that got in her blood and never left after she moved there to attend Appalachian State University (ASU). While at ASU, she majored in piano performance and music therapy and began to cultivate a love for accompanying and for collaborating with other musicians. This soon led her to earn a master’s degree in collaborative piano at the University of Tennessee, which she attended from 2006-2008.
Related Content