© 2023 WUOT
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

The Oak Ridge Symphony Takes Us On An Adventure Around The World And Through Time

Melony Dodson talks with music director, Dan Allcott

This Saturday evening, November 20th  at 7:30pm, the Oak Ridge symphony Orchestra presents Musical Soundscapes: a program featuring music that defines and creates a sense of place and time. Take a journey around the world or wherever your imagination takes you, as the symphony and Maestro Dan Allcott perform Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No.5, the “Adaptation Variations” by Japanese-American composer, Takuma Itoh, “Spielzeug Strassenbahn” by Jennifer Jolley, and “Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout” by Gabriela Lena Frank.

Three soloists will be featured in this performance: concertmaster, Karen Kartal (violin), ORSO principal flutist, Shelby Shankland, and guest harpsichordist, Malcolm Matthews. Learn more about the music, the composers, and the soloists in this interview with music director, Dan Allcott.

The concert will take place at First United Methodist Church of Oak Ridge. More information at http://orcma.org

Melony calls the beautiful mountains of Boone, N.C., home, although she was born near Greensboro, N.C. There’s just something about those Blue Ridge Mountains that got in her blood and never left after she moved there to attend Appalachian State University (ASU). While at ASU, she majored in piano performance and music therapy and began to cultivate a love for accompanying and for collaborating with other musicians. This soon led her to earn a master’s degree in collaborative piano at the University of Tennessee, which she attended from 2006-2008.