© 2024 WUOT

209 Communications Building
1345 Circle Park Drive
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-0322
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Get to know conductor, Vinay Parameswaran and cellist, Tommy Mesa

Melony Dodson talks with guest conductor, Vinay Parameswaran and cellist, Tommy Mesa. Maestro Parameswaran will lead the KSO in its March Masterworks concert, which will feature Mesa as soloist. He will perform Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations and Silent Woods by Dvorak.

The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra presents its next Masterworks Concert on Thursday, March 14 and Friday, March 15, both at 7:30pm. As usual, the performances will be given in the magnificent Tennessee Theatre in downtown Knoxville. The symphony will be led by guest conductor, Vinay Parameswaran, featuring guest cellist, Thomas (Tommy) Mesa, who will perform Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations and Silent Woods by Dvorak. Also on the program is A Joyous Trilogy by Quinn Mason and the Symphony No.8 by Dvorak.

Get to know Maestro Parameswaran and Tommy Mesa in this interview with Morning Concert host, Melony Dodson. The two guest musicians share a similar story with how they got started in music...they both wanted to be drummers! Also, learn more about the music on the program, including what distinguishes Dvorak's eighth symphony from his other symphonies.

Tickets and additional information are available online at https://knoxvillesymphony.com/concert/dvorak-and-tchaikovsky/

Melony calls the beautiful mountains of Boone, N.C., home, although she was born near Greensboro, N.C. There’s just something about those Blue Ridge Mountains that got in her blood and never left after she moved there to attend Appalachian State University (ASU). While at ASU, she majored in piano performance and music therapy and began to cultivate a love for accompanying and for collaborating with other musicians. This soon led her to earn a master’s degree in collaborative piano at the University of Tennessee, which she attended from 2006-2008.