© 2022 WUOT
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Tennessee Elections: A Recap


Part 2: WUOT's Brandon Hollingsworth talks Election Day with Morning Edition host Victor Agreda

On August 2, East Tennesseans cast their ballots in federal and state primary elections and a number of county general elections. Here, WUOT’s Hannah Martin and intern Colton Zenni recap Thursday night's election results and highlights. 

Tennessee typically votes overwhelmingly Republican, and that rang true again in 2018. However, Democratic voter turnout was surprisingly high this year. 

County mayoral races:

Knox County - Glenn Jacobs (R)

Jefferson County - Mark Potts (R)

Sevier County - Larry Waters (R)

Cocke County - Crystal Ottinger (R)

Monroe County - Mitch Ingram (R)

Farragut - Ron Williams (R)

General elections in Anderson County:

Circuit Court Clerk - Rex Lynch (R)

Sheriff - Russell Barker (R)

County Commission - Robert Jameson (District 2); Josh Anderson and Denver Waddell (District 3).

Highlights: Though there are 16 county commissioners, not all drew challengers this election season. Only District 3 will have entirely new representatives.

Congressional races:

Because these were primaries, final results will come in November for challenged districts.

House District 1: Marty Olsen (D); Phil Roe (R)

House District 2: Renee Hoyos (D); Tim Burchett (R)

House District 3: Danielle Mitchell (D); Chuck Fleishmann (R)

General Assembly races:

House District 89 - Justin Lafferty (R); Colleen Martinez (D)

House District 13 - Eddie Smith (R); Gloria Johnson (D)

House District 19 - Dave Wright (R); Edward Nelson (D); Michelle Westover (I)

Highlights: This will be the third election cycle in which Johnson and Smith have been the general election candidates. Wright is a current Knox County commissioner; current District 19 representative Harry Brooks is retiring.

For more on East Tennessee elections mentioned above, check out the audio recaps with WUOT's Brandon Hollingsworth and Victor Agreda at the top of the page.