© 2024 WUOT

209 Communications Building
1345 Circle Park Drive
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-0322
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Orchestras from the European Broadcasting Union

Mondays at 8pm during the month of April 2024

Monday, April 1, 2024
Dresden Staatskapelle presents works by Weber, Wagner, and R. Strauss Christian Thielemann leads the Dresden Staatskapelle in an exceptional performance of audience favorites. We celebrate the start of the New Year with Weber’s Jubilee Overture and the ever-recognizable Also sprach Zarathustra by Strauss bookended by Wagner’s Overture to Tannhäuser and Strauss’s Der Rosenkavalier suite.

Monday, April 8, 2024
The Hallé performs Sibelius, Stravinsky, and Ravel
With Sibelius’s music woven through the Hallé’s DNA, expect a stunning performance of The Oceanides, an impressionistic masterpiece that evokes the sea and nymphs of Greek mythology. Roberto Ruisi, the Hallé’s concertmaster, performs Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto and the Hallé Choir join for Ravel’s complete Daphnis and Chloe.

Monday, April 15, 2024
Paul Lewis and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
In 1950s Manhattan, Bernstein’s electrifying dance rhythms punch and kick across the hot city streets. A world away, a composer in exile creates a masterpiece that’s part-symphony, partballet, and all Rachmaninov. And in between, Liverpool’s own piano superstar Paul Lewis salutes jazz-age America in Copland’s Piano Concerto and George Gershwin’s irresistible Rhapsody in Blue.

Monday, April 22, 2024
Alban Gerhardt, Marin Alsop, and the German Symphony Orchestra
Marin Alsop leads the German Symphony Orchestra, Berlin, in a performance of Montgomery, Dean, and Dvořák. Drawing on American folk idioms and the spirit of dance and movement, Montgomery’s Strum moves from nostalgia to ecstatic celebration. Dean’s Cello Concerto, here exceptionally performed by Alban Gerhardt, plays with recurring motives and rhythms that moves seamlessly between intimate, dreamy, and agitated emotions. The concert closes with Dvořák’s familiar and timeless New World Symphony.

Monday, April 29, 2024
Yuja Wang and the Oslo Philharmonic perform Ravel Piano Concertos
Pianist Yuja Wang joins the Oslo Philharmonic and its Chief Conductor Klaus Mäkelä for a program of 20th-century masterpieces by Ravel and Shostakovich. In a rare side-by-side performance, Yuja Wang brings her exceptional virtuosity to Maurice Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left Hand and the jazz-influenced Piano Concerto in G. Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony concludes the concert.