Covering COVID in East Tennessee

The story of COVID-19 and its manifold effects on East Tennessee is fast-moving. We want to make sure you can easily find our latest coverage, and look back on reporting you may have missed. As we continue to report, our COVID stories will be posted here.

Ongoing

Resources, Free Lunches Available During School Closures and Social Distancing, by Claire Heddles

Wednesday, May 27

Knox County Sees Continued “Statistically Significant” Rise in COVID Cases, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, May 22

Roundup: Tourist Attractions Open Up; Free Child Care Extended to Include More Workers, by Claire Heddles

Roundup: 28,000 New Unemployment Claims in Tennessee; UT Weighs Three Scenarios for Fall Classes, by Claire Heddles

Martha Buchanan, In the Middle, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, May 20

Roundup: Council Approves New City Budget; Knox County to Start Phase II of Reopening Next Tuesday, by Claire Heddles

Tuesday, May 19

Roundup: Graduations to be the Largest Gatherings in Weeks; TN Unemployment Benefits Extended, by Claire Heddles

HealthConnections: Coverage Options for the Unemployed, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, May 18

Roundup: Knox Re-Opening Plan to Get Second Look; Plasma Shows Promise, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, May 15

Roundup: UTMC Takes Part in COVID Treatment Project; Weekend Testing Focuses on Public Housing, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, May 13

Roundup: State of Emergency Extended; Vanderbilt Looks at the Numbers, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Tuesday, May 12

Roundup: Knox County Says Don't Forget About Testing; Alexander in Self-Quarantine, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, May 11

Roundup: Vote by Mail Applications Open Amidst COVID-19 Uncertainty; GSMNP Draws Crowds, by Claire Heddles 

Friday, May 8

Roundup: Hospitals Plan to Offer All Services in Late May; County Furloughs Begin, by Claire Heddles

Thursday, May 7

Roundup: Mask Troubles; Plans for Late July Graduation Ceremonies, by Claire Heddles

Wednesday, May 6

Dialogue: Disinformation Campaigns and How to Spot Them, by Claire Heddles

Tuesday, May 5

HealthConnections: Health Disparities Reflected in the Pandemic, by Dr. Carole Myers and Brandon Hollingsworth

Roundup: Opening Weekend of Phased Re-Opening Brings Mixed Bag, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, May 1

Local Postal Workers Face Safety Risks Amidst a National Debate on the Future of USPS, by Claire Heddles

Roundup: More Cases at State Prison; Hospitals Estimate Financial Losses, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, April 29

Roundup: Athens Nursing Home Outbreak; Lee May Change Exec Order for Businesses, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Tuesday, April 28

Roundup: KCHD Emphasizes Active Cases; State Studies Antibody Tests, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, April 27

Phase One: Easing Into a New Economic and Social Reality, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, April 24

Roundup: Lee to Offer More Details on Re-Opening Plans; Jobless Claims Still Rising, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Thursday, April 23

Do Safer at Home Orders Violate the First Amendment? by Brandon Hollingsworth

Roundup: As State Works to Test More Tennesseans, Evidence COVID is Spreading in Prisons, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, April 22

Regional Mayors Say Re-Opening Plans Coming Soon, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Roundup: KCHD Changes Drive-Through Testing Plans, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Tuesday, April 21

Roundup: State Restrictions Lift Next Week; UT Plans for Autumn, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, April 20

Roundup: County Furloughs; COVID and the Courts, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, April 17

Bringing Business Back, With Caveats, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Thursday, April 16

Roundup: TN Expands COVID-19 Testing Guidelines; "When In Doubt, Get a Test," by Claire Heddles

Wednesday, April 15

Retracting the Welcome Mat: States Can Restrict Travel Over COVID Concerns, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Roundup: Drive-Through Testing in Oak Ridge; Federal Relief Money Coming to TYS, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Tuesday, April 14

Executive Order Follows Spike in Tennesseans Seeking Estate Planning, by Claire Heddles

Roundup: Soft Economic Re-Start in the Works; Decison This Week on School Closures, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, April 13

Roundup: What the Heat Map Tells Us; Officials Face Decisions on Extending Orders, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, April 10

Roundup: Rapid Testing Coming to Knoxville; Loosened Graduation Requirements for Class of 2020, by Claire Heddles

Thursday, April 9

Roundup: Expo Center Plans on Hold; Visualizing COVID Cases in Knox County, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, April 8

Roundup: 100,000 Unemployment Checks to be Mailed This Week, Four COVID-19 Deaths in Knox County, by Claire Heddles

Tuesday, April 7

HealthConnections: The Language of Epidemiology, by Dr. Carole Myers and Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, April 6

Roundup: First COVID-19 Death in Blount County, TN Department of Labor Update on Federal Funds, by Claire Heddles

Friday, April 3

Roundup: Expo Center Details; State and Local Parks Limit Activity, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Thursday, April 2

Lee Strengthens Stay-Home Order; Jacobs Warns of Erosion of Civil Liberties, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Grassroots Aid Efforts in Knoxville Grow as Coronavirus Shutdowns Extend, by Claire Heddles

Roundup: TN Jobless Claims Continue Surge; Drive-Through Assessment Comes to Knox County, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, April 1

Dialogue: Two Sides of COVID-19, by Brandon Hollingsworth

AM Roundup: Knoxville Strengthens "Stay Home" Order; UT Stays Online Through Summer, by Brandon Hollingsworth

PM Roundup: Trying to Predict COVID Patterns; Great Smoky Mtns Extends Closure, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Tuesday, March 31

Roundup: Knox County's First COVID Death; Knoxville Asks for Spare PPE, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, March 30

How the Clarence Brown Theatre is Coping With an Unexpected Finale to Their Season, by Melony Dodson

Friday, March 27

State Numbers Reflect National Upswing in Jobless Claims, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Roundup: Executive Order Aims to Help Fight COVID; Schools Try Clasroom Alternatives, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Thursday, March 26

Spirit Guide: The Chady Homestead Pandemic Response, by Chrissy Keuper

Roundup: TN Jobless Claims Skyrocket; Testing the Uninsured, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, March 25

Some Details Emerge in Understanding Dimensions of COVID in Knox County, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Roundup: School Closures Extended; Holy Week Changes, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Tuesday, March 24

Roundup: Smokies NP Off-Limits; Knoxville City Council Goes Online; OR Delcares Emergency, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, March 23

Navigating the Obstacles for Getting a COVID-19 Test in East Tennessee, by Claire Heddles

Roundup: Chinese Americans Donate to Knox COVID Relief; Kincannon Asks for Federal Aid, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Knox County Health Department Issues "Safer at Home" Order, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, March 20

Local Governments Move to Close Bars and Limit Restaurant Business, More COVID Cases Confirmed, by Brandon Hollingsworth

MEDIC Desperate for Blood Donations, by Chrissy Keuper

Thursday, March 19

As Testing Capacity Grows, Medical Facilities Work to Close Supply Gaps, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Wednesday, March 18

COVID-19, Tornado Relief, Possible Recession Upend State Budget Priorities, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Immunologist Barry Rouse on Animal Coronaviruses and the Search for a COVID-19 Vaccine, by Claire Heddles

Tuesday, March 17

Lee Advances Proposals to Blunt Economic Effects of COVID-19, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Monday, March 16

Knoxville Declares State of Emergency to Deal With COVID-19, by Brandon Hollingsworth

State Courts Suspend In-Person Events to Help Slow COVID-19 Spread, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Friday, March 13

Capitol Closes to Visitors, Governor Recommends Churches and Schools Act With Caution, by Brandon Hollingsworth

Thursday, March 12

Government, Schools and Institutions Race to Deal with COVID-19, Educate Public, by Brandon Hollingsworth