© 2024 WUOT

209 Communications Building
1345 Circle Park Drive
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-0322
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

The Oak Ridge Symphony performs traditional and innovative works by Beethoven, Mason Bates, Ravel, and Chen Yi

Melony Dodson talks with Maestro Regulo Stabilito about the Oak Ridge Symphony's upcoming performance, featuring music by Beethoven, Ravel, Mason Bates, and Chen Yi.

The Oak Ridge Symphony Orchestra presents "Tradition and Innovation". The concert includes Auditorium by American composer, Mason Bates, Maurice Ravel's Le Tombeau de Couperin, the Symphony No.8 by Beethoven, and Sprout by Chinese-American composer, Chen Yi. This unique program ties together "traditional" works with innovative, contemporary works that were influenced or inspired by them. But, in the end, all music was "once new" and innovative, as Maestro Régulo Stabilito explains.

Performances are Saturday, November 11th at Faith Lutheran Church in Farragut at 7:30pm and Sunday, November 12th in the Performing Arts Center at Oak Ridge High School at 3pm. "Symphony & Sichuan", the Oak Ridge Civic Music Association's Fall fundraising dinner, will follow, immediately after the concert. Advance reservations are required for that event.

Tickets and additional information can be found at https://orcma.org/

Melony calls the beautiful mountains of Boone, N.C., home, although she was born near Greensboro, N.C. There’s just something about those Blue Ridge Mountains that got in her blood and never left after she moved there to attend Appalachian State University (ASU). While at ASU, she majored in piano performance and music therapy and began to cultivate a love for accompanying and for collaborating with other musicians. This soon led her to earn a master’s degree in collaborative piano at the University of Tennessee, which she attended from 2006-2008.